Oh You Mother!

Hah! Gotcha. That title could mean almost anything. But tomorrow is Mother’s Day, the ultimate hallmark holiday; invented to generate income for restaurants, florists and card shops. I’ve got news for you, if you don’t honor your mother all year long, if your partner doesn’t honor that you are the mother of the children all year long, this one day just isn’t going to do it. Flowers are nice, chocolate is always good, and we like presents. The truth is, however, that the relationship is what matters, the love is what counts. The joy of being a mother is without question its own reward. Anyone who remembers the first time they laid eyes on their infant child, remembers the first “mama”, remembers a little body in the bed with you, knows what I mean. Anyone who has made the boo boo better, has made the tears dry, has made the english homework make sense, knows what I mean. My son is the funny boy. He is at that age where, like the cruise commercial, the smile is a fleeting thing. But sometimes he can’t repress the smile, the joke. For a long time he has been the laughter in our home, something I will miss when he leaves. Of course his dad says he will never leave! But he will. Mother’s don’t lose their daughters but mostly, they do lose their sons. Figuratively speaking of course. It is the rare daughter in law that wants to be close to her mother in law. Anyway, a little appreciation is enough for me. Our son is a great reward. He was a miracle when we got him and he still is. I don’t need hallmark to know that my family loves me. Happy Mother’s Day.

2 Responses to “Oh You Mother!”

  1. Cindy Says:

    Great points! I will be checking back here often!

  2. trienahg Says:

    Wonderful, I treasure every new reader. I hope you will subscribe, and comment.


Leave a Reply

