Lady Gaga… Speaking of Disasters?

Ok how do you know you are getting old? This is how. You watch Lady Gaga on television or youtube or whatever viewing poison you choose and you go WHAT THE ….????”??? I like all kinds of music. I think of myself in a minor way as a musician (amateur at best). I even like some of the things my seventeen year old likes (heaven forbid). But I don’t get Lady Gaga. The hair, the costumes, whatever. I just want to yell when are you going to start singing? Maybe she is singing and I’m so distracted I can’t hear it because my eyes are full. I note recently that quite a few acts, including the likes of the Black Eyed Peas, and a rapper whose name I can’t recall at the moment, are doing more and more of this silly overly costumed stage show and less and less actual singing. The songs are all dead boring repetitive with virtually no lyrics ~ usually about a line or two repeated over and over as if the songwriters union was on strike the week the music was written. Rap and Hip Hop have vast creativity, this crap doesn’t. The blues and jazz speak for themselves. Many artists who are hard to categorize are special and worth listening to. I like a good show but for us old rockers a good show was some guy slaving over his guitar to make as much music per minute as possible, or great multipart vocal harmonies. There wasn’t much costume to it. Country used to have a little more glitz, think Glen Campbell and rhinestones; some artists today still do but they too seem more involved in making the music. Think of the greats, Clapton, Bonnie Raitt, Lowell George, Jerry, etc. Mostly a pair of jeans and an instrument; what more could you need? Certainly not a bleached wig and cheap star trek boob costumes. I am so missing the music.

One Response to “Lady Gaga… Speaking of Disasters?”

  1. Andrea Says:

    These are the ones that I like the best — when you just let it fly. I seem to related to a lot of what’s on your mind…. even on the days that I “search and find nothing!” Keep writing.


Leave a Reply

